Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Northern Writers Reading with Amanda Huggins and Sarah Linley

May 11 @ 19:30 - 21:00

Join Marsden regulars Amanda Huggins and Sarah Linley as they read extracts from their latest books, live in Marsden Library.

Amanda Huggins is the author of the novellas All Our Squandered Beauty and Crossing the Lines, as well as five collections of short stories and poetry. She has won numerous awards, including two Saboteur Awards for poetry and fiction, the Colm Toibin International Short Story Award 2020 and the H E Bates Short Story Prize 2021. She was also a runner-up in the Costa Short Story Award 2018 and the Fish Short Story Prize 2021, and has been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize, The Alpine Fellowship Award and many others. Amanda lives in Yorkshire and works in publishing.

Crossing the Lines:

When Mollie’s mama falls for Sherman Rook, they leave New Jersey behind and move a thousand miles west to his isolated farmstead. Mollie befriends a stray dog, but Rook’s cruelty makes her realise we must sometimes leave behind those we love in order to save ourselves. With only $20 to her name, she sets out from the farm to make her way back home across five state lines.

  • “Crossing the Lines is a beautifully constructed novella, rich in empathy and atmosphere, and very moving. I look forward to reading more from Amanda Huggins.” Alison Moore, Booker-shortlisted author of The Retreat

Sarah Linley is a crime writer based in Keighley, West Yorkshire.

Her debut novel, The Beach, was published by One More Chapter, the digital imprint of HarperCollins in February 2020.

The Wedding Murders was published by the same imprint in February 2022.

www.sarahlinleyauthor.com

The Wedding Murders

You are invited to the wedding of the season… you might not live to tell the tale.

It’s the stuff of fairy tales. A celebrity wedding in a grand manor house in the beautiful English countryside. But then one guest goes missing. And another almost dies.

Someone at this wedding will do anything to stop their dark secrets from being exposed.

  • “This gripping murder mystery will keep you riveted from start to end. Fans of Lucy Foley and Agatha Christie will love it” Sophie Hannah, bestselling author of Haven’t They Grown

Doors:  7.15 pm

Event: 7.30 pm

Light refreshments

Free event, booking required.  Book online, or Sign Up in Marsden Library.

Organiser

Friends of Marsden Library

Venue

Marsden Library
Marsden Mechanics Hall, Peel Street
Marsden, West Yorkshire HD7 6BW United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Phone:
01484414868

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*